This is the "Home" page of the "US Spanish Civil War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Spanish Civil War   Tags: spain history, spanish civil war  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://mais-web.libguides.com/content.php?pid=638144 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Reliable Sources

You have found a web site that looks good, professionally designed, nice pictures etc. BUT, it is reliable?
Ask yourself these six important questions BEFORE you use any information from the web site!

1. Who is responsible for this site?

2. What are his or her credentials?

3. Have the authors documented their own sources?

4. What is the domain name? Does it end in .com, .gov, .edu, .org, or .net?

5. Who else links to the site? You can perform a link check in Google by entering "link:webaddress" in the search box. Is it linked to other reliable sites?

6. Would you include this site in a bibliography?

      
     

    General Sources

    • Southworth Spanish Civil War CollectionThe Southworth collection at the University of California, San Diego, contains over 13,000 books, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, posters, and manuscripts.
    • New York University: NYU's Tamiment Library has holdings related to the Abraham Lincoln Brigade, a group of American volunteers who participated in the conflict. Click here to view these holdings. Another source for study of the Spanish Civil War is the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives, a nonprofit national organization founded by the Veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade in 1979.
    • They Still Draw Pictures "They Still Draw Pictures" includes a digital reproduction of the book with the same title, together with images of all of the children's drawings held in the Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection, Mandeville Special Collections Library, UCSD.
    • Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives The Abraham Lincoln Brigade is an organization dedicated to highlighting the role of North American volunteers in the war. Includes links to a biographical database, lesson plans, and much more.
    • Hoover Institute: Stanford has several items related to the Spanish Civil War, including the Leo Elloesser papers, which discuss interational medical aid to Spain during the Spanish Civil War: Click here to view these holdings. The Institute also has several collections which feature art related to the Spanish Civil War. These materials are frequently added to, so the best way to find them is to search the Hoover Institute site.
     

    QR Code

    Scan the QR code below to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

    ASM Databases

    Check our ASM Moodle site for login information.

    Ebsco

    questia

    Oxford Reference Online

    Oxford Art Online

    Oxford Music Online

    JSTOR

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip